Oscar Predictions 2017

As someone who loves movies and hopes to one day make them, one of my favorite hobbies is analyzing movie awards. I think it’s fascinating to try and judge which movies critics and in this case, Academy voters, will deem the best. Not to brag, but I’ve been reasonably successful in my previous attempts, with two thirds of my picks being correct last year, and with all my picks in the major categories being correct the two years before that. (I only started predicting every category last year.) This year, I thought I would share my predictions in case anyone is interested or wants to debate them with me. I’ve predicted my favorite movie of the year, La La Land, in eleven categories. I think it’s unlikely that it will win that many, but if it does, it would only be the fourth film in Oscar history to do so, after Ben-Hur, Titanic, and The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King. La La Land has already tied the all time record for nominations (fourteen) with All About Eve and Titanic, so the concept of it tying the record for wins is definitely not out of the question. If you’re wondering why I would predict it in eleven categories if I think it’s unlikely to win, it’s because on an individual basis, it’s a strong contender in each category I’ve predicted it in, and as such, it’s harder to predict which categories it will not win than which it will. In other words, my predictions are what I think will win, but I’m not necessarily confident about all of them. Here are my predictions for the 89th Academy Awards:

Best Picture:
Will Be: La La Land
Could Be: Moonlight

Best Actor:
Will Be: Denzel Washington, Fences
Could Be: Casey Affleck, Manchester by the Sea

Best Actress:
Will Be: Emma Stone, La La Land
Could Be: Isabelle Huppert, Elle

Best Supporting Actor:
Will Be: Mahershala Ali, Moonlight
Could Be: Dev Patel, Lion

Best Supporting Actress:
Will Be: Viola Davis, Fences
Could Be: Michelle Williams, Manchester by the Sea

Best Animated Film
Will Be: Zootopia
Could Be: Kubo and the Two Strings

Best Cinematography:
Will Be: La La Land
Could Be: Moonlight

Best Costume Design:
Will Be: La La Land
Could Be: Jackie

Best Director:
Will Be: Damien Chazelle, La La Land
Could Be: Barry Jenkins, Moonlight

Best Documentary Feature:
Will Be: O.J.: Made in America
Could Be: I Am Not Your Negro

Best Documentary Short:
Will Be: The White Helmets
Could Be: Joe’s Violin

Best Film Editing:
Will Be: La La Land
Could Be: Arrival

Best Foreign Language Film:
Will Be: The Salesman
Could Be: Toni Erdmann

Best Makeup and Hairstyling:
Will Be: Star Trek Beyond
Could Be: Suicide Squad

Best Original Score:
Will Be: La La Land
Could Be: Moonlight

Best Original Song:
Will Be: City of Stars, La La Land
Could Be: How Far I’ll Go, Moana

Best Production Design:
Will Be: La La Land
Could Be: Hail, Caesar!

Best Animated Short Film:
Will Be: Piper
Could Be: Blind Vaysha

Best Live Action Short Film:
Will Be: Ennemis Interieurs
Could Be: Silent Nights

Best Sound Editing:
Will Be: Hacksaw Ridge
Could Be: La La Land

Best Sound Mixing:
Will Be: La La Land
Could Be: Hacksaw Ridge

Best Visual Effects:
Will Be: The Jungle Book
Could Be: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Best Adapted Screenplay:
Will Be: Moonlight
Could Be: Arrival

Best Original Screenplay:
Will Be: La La Land
Could Be: Manchester by the Sea

 

Leave a Reply

